UpToDate uses Lexicomp to provide two essential tools: a searchable Drug Information database and an interactive Drug Interaction tool. Both of these are accessible through the homepage.
UpToDate includes access to over 6,000 unique drug entries in the Lexicomp drug database. There are two ways to search that database, one of which is to use the drop down menu on the blue tool bar on the homepage.
Navigating via the tool bar will bring you to a menu where you can choose from the following categories of information: general, international, patient, and pediatric drug information, "what's new" in drug therapy, and patient education.
For the sake of this demo, we will look at the ways to access general drug information.
On the following screen, you can scroll through an alphabetical list of available database entries.
Alternatively, you can also search the drug database via the search bar on the homepage. Search results for drug information can be narrowed down using the toggles at the top of the screen. You will also find a quick-links box on the right-hand side of the screen that can also toggle between links for general, pediatric, and patient information.
Drug information entries are set up much the same as the other entries in UpToDate, with a Topic Outline on the left-hand side of the screen. Topics provided by the Lexicomp database include information on dosing, administration, safety issues and reactions, contraindications, and other considerations.
Through UpToDate, users can access the Lexicomp Drug Interactions tool, which allows you to create a custom list of medications and drugs and view any known reactions and contraindications.
To access this tool, click on "Drug Interactions" from the UpToDate homepage. From the following screen, you are able to search for and add as many drugs or medications as you would like.
Once you have added everything you would like to include, click the blue "Analyze" button. You can add or remove items from this list at any time.
Lexicomp will analyze the items in your list and assign risk ratings to any known interactions. The ratings are:
For example, by analyzing the combination of Imitrex, Ibuprofen, and Aspirin, Lexicomp identified the combination of Aspirin and Ibuprofen as a D-level rating (consider therapy modification). You can learn more about each listed interaction by clicking on the link.
By clicking on an interaction, you can read more about why that combination has been assigned a certain risk level. Provided information includes a summary of the interaction, patient management instructions, an overview of data and research, and a list of resources.
