Skip to main content

Faculty Information

Linking library resources

Have you found a specific library resource that you would like to share with your class?

When you find an article, eBook, or any other library resource that you would like to share on your CelticOnline course, the best way to make it available is through a web link. However, you cannot use the URL from the web browser! You must use a persistent link, or permalink, instead. The permalink is available in the database record and may be lableled as a Link, Permalink, or Document URL, depending on which database you searched.

Linking library resources: Library Search

Step 1

  • When you find a resource using the Library Search (from the library main page) that you would like to share on CelticOnline, you will need to copy the Link from the database record. 

When Link is clicked, a window appears with the permalink already highlighted and ready to be copied with the right click of the mouse.

Step 2

  • Once you have copied the web address from the database, login to your CelticOnline course site and select the Add File/Link/External Tool option under the Add Materials menu. 

  • A small box will appear and select Link. 

  • Enter in the title of the article in the Name field.
  • In the URL field, paste in the link that you copied from the database record. 
  • Click the Add button.
  • Students will now see a link to the article when they open your course on CelticOnline. 

When this link is selected from within your CelticOnline course site, the student will be directed to login through the off-campus access page with their Carlow Active Directory username and password. After logging in s/he will be taken directly to the resource. If the student is on campus, they will be taken directly to the article without having to login. 

Linking library resources from EBSCOhost and ProQuest databases

To post a link to a resource from an EBSCOhost or ProQuest database into a CelticOnline course site, complete the following two steps:

For any EBSCOhost Database

  • Have the detailed record open (click on the article title) for the complete citation. On the right hand side of the detailed record, click on the icon for Permalink.
  • When you click on the Permalink icon, the permalink web address will appear over the article title near the top of the page. Select and copy the entire address then proceed Step 2 in this guide.
  • An example of an entire web address is: http://carlow.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bsh&AN=43550499&site=ehost-live&scope=site

For any ProQuest Database

  • Click and view the complete citation of the article. 
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the page to select and copy the web address that is listed next to Document URL then proceed to Step 2 of this guide.

  • An example of the entire web address is: 

http://carlow.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bsh&AN=43550499&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Note that you see "carlow" in the web address!

Other Library Databases

There are a few library databases that are not listed above. If you are using a database that is not listed, it is recommended that you direct students to the library's web site, the name of the database (such as Britannica Academic), and the search terms they should enter to find the resource. Do not use the web browser's web address to link out as it may not work properly.

Step 2

  • Once you have copied the web address from the database, login to your CelticOnline course site and select the Add File/Link/External Tool option under the Add Materials menu. 

  • A small box will appear and select Link. 

  • Enter in the title of the article in the Name field.
  • In the URL field, paste in the link that you copied from the database. 
  • Click the Add button.
  • Students will now see a link to the article when they open your course on CelticOnline. 

 

As with the Library Search database permalinks, when this link is selected from within your CelticOnline course site, the student will be directed to login through the off-campus access page with their Carlow Active Directory username and password. After logging in s/he will be taken directly to the article. If the student is on campus, they will be taken directly to the article without having to login. 

Embedding Videos from Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online provides access to over 60,000 documentaries, training, and instruction videos that you can use for your coursework to accompany instruction. The database is vast, so the best way to provide these materials is outlined below.

First access Academic Video Online from the library's A-Z Databases Page. You will be directed to the main page with several options. The best way to find a video is with either a keyword search in the upper right corner, or a discipline-specific browse by using the "Disciplines" drop-down menu.

Under "Disciplines," you can navigate to the search pages for particular disciplines, and then further focus your browse down to particular subjects. (See the Alexander Street guide on searching and browsing by discipline for more information).

Once you have found a video you would like to link or embed, open the video itself. Underneath where the video is playing, there is a button that says "Embed/Link."

link to embed/link

The window that opens will contain the permalink that you can use to share the video, or the embed code, which you can copy and then paste into Celtic Online as you will see shortly.

embed code

 

To embed this video to Celtic Online, first copy the entire embed code as you see here.

To paste this to Celtic Online in order to embed the video into your course site, follow these instructions.

1. From the Add Materials drop down, select Add Page
2. In the upper right corner of the Rich Text Editor, click the two small dots (this switches the editor into HTML mode.
pasting embed code to Celtic Online course site
3. Copy and paste the embed code into the Rich Text Editor Box.