Grace Library is open 24/7! The third floor of the University Commons is accessible to all students, faculty, and staff at all times.
We recommend that you start with the Library Search for your research as the discovery system is able to search a vast majority of the Library's holdings. But not all of the resources owned by Grace Library can be searched using the discovery system. Don't give up! There are more options for you to consider.
When the discovery system is not producing the best results, even when using the tips under the "Use the Library Search" or "Advanced Search" tabs, or the tutorial video above, it may be time to conduct some advanced searching. We recommend at this point that you go to the library's A-Z Databases page (a link to which can be found under the Library Search box on the library website).
Once you open this link, it will take you to a full list of the library's databases. We recommend that you search the database directly using the links on this page. If you are unsure which database to search, there are descriptions of each database underneath their title.
If you are unfamiliar with these databases, you can also use the drop-down menu that says "All Subjects" to select a database group. Here, you will see databases classified into subject categories. This way, you can select a subject category to see a list of all of the databases that have holdings on each title.
Once you have selected a database, searching works in much the same way as Library Search. Start with brief keywords, use sorting and filtering, and get more specific as you go. You may find articles, abstracts, and other materials that you didn't find in the Library Search.
Library Database: An interface to which the library subscribes that holds collections of electronic journals, magazines, eBooks, indexes, and/or abstracts. This allows the library to subscribe to thousands upon thousands of electronic resources so that students can access the full-text of articles instantly without having to track down a copy of that publication.
Index & Abstract Database: A collection of bibliographic citations with brief summaries of articles and/or books for the purpose of searching and discovering the literature published on a subject.
Full-Text Database: A collection of materials subscribed to by the library for the purpose of accessing the entire text of a book or article without having to purchase a copy.
